Big Changes to the World of Hyatt Program — Earn Milestone Reward After Staying Less Nights

This post may contain affiliate links from our advertising partners. Read my Advertiser Disclosure policy here. Additionally, some of the offers on this page may no longer be available through Deals We Like.

Hyatt just announced a huge change to their World of Hyatt loyalty program where instead of earning rewards solely upon earning Explorist (30 nights) and Globalist (60 nights) status, you will earn varying rewards after every 10 nights stayed, starting at the 20 night mark. Or if you have expensive stays, you can earn at the equivalent base points instead. This change will take place starting March 1, 2019 and overall is very good for members. There are new benefits being added and you can earn certain benefits by staying less nights. You can learn more about these changes here.

a list of points with text
New World of Hyatt Reward Chart

20 night mark: In the current program, you earn 4 Club Lounge awards after earning Explorist status, which takes 30 nights to earn. With this new Milestone Rewards program, you’ll earn 2 Club Lounge awards after 20 nights and another 2 after 30 nights. This is great for those who meet 20 nights, but aren’t able to get to the full 30 night requirement.

30 night mark: You’ll earn the 2 remaining Club Lounge awards, plus the category 1-4 free night certificate (which is already part of the current program).

40 night mark: If you are able to surpass Explorist status and stay 40 nights, they are adding a new benefit. You’ll be able to select one of three options — Bonus Points, Hyatt Gift Card, or a FIND Experience Savings.

50 night mark: In the current program, you earn 4 Suite Night awards after earning Globalist status, which takes 60 nights to earn. With this new Milestone Rewards program, you’ll earn 2 Suite Night awards after 50 nights and another 2 nights after 60 nights. Again, this is great for those who come out just shy of earning Globalist status as there is still a benefit of staying 50 nights.

60 night mark: You’ll earn the 2 remaining Suite Night awards, plus the category 1-7 free night certificate, as well as a My Hyatt Concierge Agent (both which are already part of the current program).

70, 80, 90, 100 night mark: You’ll continue to earn either bonus points or another Suite Upgrade (your choice) when you hit these four milestones.

This will definitely make their program stronger and incentivize their members to hit different goals. I love how a new award is being granted at the 40 night mark and I am also a big fan that members will be able to redeem their lounge access and suite night awards earlier — you do not have to wait until fully reaching Explorist or Globalist status. And if you are not able to earn the status by the end of the year, you are still given something! I am very happy with these changes!

Remember, staying this number of nights at Hyatt properties can definitely be challenging over the course of a calendar year, but the World of Hyatt Credit Card can help you get there. With the World of Hyatt Credit Card you’ll earn 5 nights towards status every single year as well as 2 qualifying nights towards status and these milestone rewards for every $5,000 spent on the card. This means you can immediately subtract 5 nights from the chart above if you have the credit card. And if you spend a lot throughout the year, you’ll hit those milestones even faster! Qualifying nights include paid stays, point stays, cash + point stays, and nights earned via credit card spend. With all those options, getting to the next “mark” might be possible!

Now, the Negative Changes

  • Hyatt Credit Cardholders (legacy cardholders, not those with the new World of Hyatt credit card) will still earn 4 Club lounge access awards and Explorist status after spending $50,000 on purchases in 2019 only. Starting in 2020, Club lounge access awards will only be awarded based on nights stayed or base points earned through qualifying Milestone Reward activity
  • Starting in 2020, members will need to stay 60 qualifying nights to re-qualify for Globalist status, and will no longer re-qualify at 55 nights. This is quite a disappointment to the program as earning those last 5 remaining nights can definitely be challenging. Members also took this into consideration when selecting Hyatt as their hotel chain for the year — they worked hard earning Globalist status year 1 knowing that for the remaining years they had 5 less stays to meet the status.


Although they are taking away the Globalist soft landing benefit (which will definitely affect my family as well as many other members), this is overall a positive change. I like that they are introducing a new award (at the 40 night mark) and that you can earn the Lounge Access and Suite Night Awards even earlier during the year.

Editorial Disclosure: Opinions expressed here are author's alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, hotel, airline, or other entity. This content has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of the entities included within the post.

The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Pin It on Pinterest